An adulterant check is not a drug test. It is a set of pads printed on the same cup that measure whether the specimen behaves like normal human urine: pH, specific gravity and creatinine. The catch nobody puts on the product page is that adding those pads is frequently what pushes a cup out of CLIA-waived status and into Forensic Use Only. This list ranks eight options for 2026 on what the pads cover, what the paperwork says and what the cup costs. Every one is a presumptive screen — a non-negative goes to a certified laboratory for GC-MS or LC-MS confirmation.
What the three pads tell you
pH flags a specimen outside the normal acidity range. Specific gravity compares the specimen’s density to water, which is how a very dilute sample shows up. Creatinine is a waste product excreted at a fairly steady rate; a low reading points the same way as a low specific gravity. An out-of-range pad is not a positive drug result — it is a procedural signal, answered under most written policies by a recollection or a laboratory referral. Two terms: CLIA waived means the FDA judged a test simple enough to run at a site holding a Certificate of Waiver, without a laboratory. Forensic Use Only means the device is sold for non-clinical purposes such as employment screening, with no FDA clearance for diagnostic use.
1. Abbott iCup 5-Panel with Adulteration (OX/SG/PH)
Abbott’s iCup is the best-known integrated cup with validity pads built in, and the 25-cup pack is listed as CLIA waived — the combination employers ask for and often cannot find. It screens COC, THC, OPI, mAMP and PCP, with oxidant, specific gravity and pH pads on the same label, in a sealed cup that reads in about five minutes. It takes the top slot because waived paperwork and validity pads arrive on one SKU from a manufacturer with a hospital purchasing footprint. Drawback: five analytes will not cover a policy listing benzodiazepines, buprenorphine or methadone, and there is no published per-cup price.
2. 12 Panel Now — 12 Panel Drug Test Cup with Adulterants, CLIA Waived
The same validity trio — pH, specific gravity, creatinine — on a twelve-analyte cup that holds CLIA-waived status, which is unusual once adulterant pads are on the label. Pricing runs from $2.69 per cup at the smallest box down to $1.39 at the top bulk tier, published rather than quoted, because the Serenity Cup line is manufacturer-direct. Drawback: twelve analytes plus three pads is a busy read window for an untrained collector, and a wider panel than many employers need. On a shorter panel, the same brand’s 5-panel 120 mL click-top with adulteration testing runs as low as $0.99 per cup at volume.
3. Medical Disposables Corp — 12 Panel Cup with Adulterants (MDC-12AD)
A twelve-analyte cup with validity pads, listed as CLIA waived, from a distributor shipping US-wide and internationally. Useful as a second approved source for the same specification. Drawback: no published price, so every reorder is a quote.
4. American Screening Corp — 5 Panel 90 mL Cup with Adulterants
A five-analyte cup with validity pads from a US manufacturer-distributor whose cups run from 5 to 19 analytes. Bulk 5-panel cups are listed at $2.20 each, small pack $15.99. Drawback: the 90 mL body holds less specimen than a 120 mL cup, which matters if a laboratory re-runs a confirmation.
|
Kit |
Panels and validity pads |
Published price |
|
Abbott iCup with adulteration |
5; oxidant, SG, pH |
Not published |
|
12 Panel Now with adulterants |
12; pH, SG, creatinine |
$2.69 down to $1.39 |
|
Medical Disposables MDC-12AD |
12; yes |
Not published |
|
American Screening Corp 90 mL |
5; yes |
$2.20 per cup, bulk |
|
CLIAwaived T-Cup Compact |
10; by configuration |
$74.75 per box |
5. T-Cup Compact 10-Panel (via CLIAwaived, Inc.)
A ten-analyte compact cup listed at $74.75 per box, easy to store in a cramped collection area. Drawback: validity pads are a configuration option rather than a standard feature, and the smaller body holds less specimen than a 120 mL cup.
6. CLIAwaived, Inc. — 12 Panel IDTC II
A twelve-analyte house-brand integrated cup at $112.50 per box, from a distributor selling into waived point-of-care sites. Convenient if your other rapid tests come from that account. Drawback: expensive per cup, and the listing does not state validity pads.
7. Identify Diagnostics — 12 Panel Urine Drug Test Cup
AMP, BAR, BUP, BZO, COC, MDMA, MET, MOP, MTD, OXY, PCP and THC, marketed as CLIA waived, available in small multi-packs. Drawback: the published panel has no validity pads, so an employer wanting pH, specific gravity and creatinine needs a different SKU.
8. Prime Screen 13-Panel C-Cup (CDOA-L9135NTA3)
A thirteen-analyte CLIA-waived integrated cup with bulk tiers — the widest panel here. Drawback: “from” pricing changes, and validity pads are not stated on the listing.
Choosing between them
Buy the cup, not the dip card: a dip card needs its own container and adds a handling step to every collection. Insist on a temperature strip, which checks the specimen is in range at collection and is separate from the validity pads. Prefer 120 mL over 90 mL if confirmations matter. Read the insert for the exact catalogue number — waived status is per SKU, not per brand.
Urine stays the workplace specimen because it has the widest set of validated cutoffs, the deepest laboratory confirmation pathway and the lowest cost per test. Be conservative on detection windows: at a 50 ng/mL cannabis cutoff, occasional use is rarely detected beyond three or four days and chronic heavy use is unlikely past about ten. No rapid cup shows impairment.
FAQ
Does an out-of-range pH or creatinine reading mean a failed test? No. It is a validity flag, not a drug result, and what happens next is whatever your written policy says.
Can an employer use a Forensic Use Only cup? Employers commonly do, because employment screening is a non-clinical use. A clinic testing patients under a Certificate of Waiver cannot.
Summary
Abbott’s iCup leads because waived status and validity pads arrive on one SKU from a manufacturer with a long purchasing record. 12 Panel Now is second, closing the gap on panel breadth and published bulk pricing, and sells the Serenity Cup line direct in tiers from 25 to 20,000+ units. Neither applies to DOT testing: 49 CFR Part 40 runs through HHS-certified laboratories.



